Reconciliation (addendum)

In the interest of full disclosure, I would like to say that began drafting my previous post several weeks ago. Between the time that I finished drafting it and found the nerve to post it, Sinclair Sexsmith of Sugarbutch Chronicles posted an article entitled “Reconciling Feminsim & Sadism.” Like all Sugarbutch posts, it’s amazing and way more articulate than my own thoughts.

I especially like this sentence, “So that’s my last prescription for reconciling feminism and sadism: Ask yourself what your definition of feminism is. If you start digging to discover that you think feminists never, ever hit someone, or humiliate someone, or call someone a bitch, or shove a cock down a girl’s throat, well then, you are going to have some trouble reconciling those two identities.”

I guess what it comes down to, for me, at this stage of my life, is this: I have to remember what feminism means to me. It’s not always clear and simple, but when I boil feminism down to it’s purest forms, reconciliation is a hella of a lot easier.

  1. August 1st, 2010
    Trackback from : Feelersout

Leave a comment