To all of the kick ass, beautiful femmes out there…

This has been floating around all the blogs I follow, but I had to repost it.

The fantastic Ivan E. Coyote on femmes:

A few highlights:

“I know that sometimes you feel like nobody truly sees you, and I want you to know that I see you. […] I’m not sure why I can tell that you are not straight, but I can. Maybe its the way you look at me, please don’t stop looking at me the way that you do.”

“Sometimes you are invisible. I have no idea what this must feel like, to walk by your own people, to know be recognized, to not be seen.”

“I want to thank you for coming out of the closet. Again and again, over and over, for the rest of your life. At school, at work, at your kid’s daycare, at you brother’s wedding, at the doctor’s office. Thank you for sideswiping their stereotypes.”

“Thank you for being the daughter my mother always wanted.”

Despite my yet-unresolved issues with the term “femme” as it relates to my own personal identity, I feel a little more appreciated. Thank you, Ivan.

    • jessa Messina
    • April 20th, 2010

    this is amazing! this will become part of my comfort food youtube videos. so glad you found this

  1. May 19th, 2010
    Trackback from : Being Seen « Feelers Out

Leave a Reply

