In Case You Forgot that Prom is Gay

On March 19, Constance McMillen, the lesbian student from Mississippi who wanted to bring her girlfriend to prom, appeared on Ellen. (The video clip is available on the Ellen site, but I can’t figure out how to embed it.)

“I’m not going to go to prom and pretend I’m not gay,” said McMillen.

While Ellen and others have offered to throw her a prom, she McMillen simply wants to go to her school’s prom. This story proves how lucky I was to attend accepting and embracing schools. My freshman year, I went to prom with two female friends. My sophomore year, I went with a senior girl who asked me to be her date (we later dated). My final year, I went on a triple date with my girlfriend and a male friend who was home-schooled and didn’t have prom opportunities. Then, I went back the year after I graduated with a female crush from 10th grade.

While I hope that prom is held in Mississippi, McMillen seems to have plenty of opportunities coming her way. She was  given a $30,000 scholarship from Tonic.com to apply towards her college education and an internship opportunity in New York City.

Meanwhile, Jesse James of justlikejessejames designed some fucking amazing tee-shirts with the simple slogan, “Prom is so gay.” Order your tee-shirt here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

