What would you buy with $13,000?

According to a recent Daily mail article, as discussed on Jezebel, the average adult woman will spend $13,000 on cosmetics over her adult lifetime- considered to be 65 years.

As Jessica Coen of Jezebel points out, that works out to $200 annually, or just under $17 a month.  While $13K seems like a hellalot, $17 a month doesn’t. I certainly don’t spend that much, but my makeup kit is pretty basic and I am a big fan of generic brands. It’s tough for me to “splurge” on $6 mascara, and I don’t replace my makeup nearly as much as recommended. I’d estimate that I spend $50 a year, at most. Instead, I splurge on boots. (Can someone figure out how much the average woman spends on shoes in a lifetime? Nevermind, I’m not sure I want to know. )

When I saw the number “13,000,” I was shocked. That is more than half a new car. That is a year or more of college tuition.  But, the more I think about it, the less surprised I am.

The feminist argument might be, “I wish women didn’t feel the need to spend thousands of dollars making themselves conform to societal ideals.” But I’m torn. In reality, I think makeup can be a fun tool of self expression. It’s pretty innocent compared to some of the other things women spends thousands on. If that is where we choose to splurge, than so be it.

How much money do you think you spend on cosmetics? What do you choose to splurge on?

For me, it’s boots and coats, all the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

