Current Obsession: Andrea Gibson

Andrea Gibson. I can’t get enough of her.

I’ve always loved slam poetry. I love the lyricism, the rhythm,  the word play. I love the brutal honestly, the hard truths. Now, I love Andrea Gibson.

I was lucky enough to see her perform the other night. I was even more lucky to be sitting all of about five feet away. I was also the lucky one to give her a piece of honey candy when her throat was scratchy.  And lucky enough to get a hug and be told that my “adorable smile made performing more fun” and that she likes my candy. (I may or may not have a huge crush…)

Anyways, back to the topic at hand. Her delivery was amazing. Despite touring over half the year, her performance seemed fresh. She is anti-war, dubious of organized religion, and supportive of all things queer- and unapologetic about all of it. That boldness is refreshing.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough cash to buy her CDs and book, but I will be ordering them online. I encourage you to do the same.  At the very least, at least check out her videos on Youtube.

And now I will leave you with a couple of my favorites: for anyone who has ever worked with children, for anyone who has ever been in love, and for those of us who dream of a more just world.

    • nome
    • January 27th, 2010

    Andrea Gibson is AMAZING. I’m so obsessed as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

