Sharing: Ghetto Ballet

I’m not a big television person, but when I do laundry at the ‘rents, I enjoy flipping on their flat screen TV and checking out what is “On Demand.”

Today, I came across the HBO documentary Ghetto Ballet. The documentary profiles several young dancers enrolled at Dance for All, South Africa’s first ballet-training program for youth from Cape Town’s poorest townships. The film offers a glimpse into the escape, dreams, and opportunities that ballet offers these young students. As a former dancer myself, I was fascinated. Moreover, I was impressed that the film explored issues of body ideals and poverty (This once again struck a personal chord, as I quit ballet largely because I tired of being told how my body was “wrong.”).

At 33 minutes in length, a lot was left out. However, it’s still an interesting documentary for anyone interested in the arts, Africa, dance, or youth in developing countries. It’s worth half an hour of your time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

