A Fashion Wish-list

My friend, T-Rex, recently lent me the book It’s So You: 35 Women Write About Personal Expression Through Fashion and Style. Edited by Michelle Tea, this book explores the intersections between fashion and feminism. While I plan on writing a more complete review once I’m finished, I’ve become inspired to share my fashion wish-list. Mind you, my friends, my fashion is always changing. This is what I want right now.

1) Black, motorcycle type boots. I love the tough edge to these. If you’re feeling extra generous, I’m a size 10.

Aldo Shoes: Cadlett

2) Black ankle boots. I have a pair of slouchy black boots, but they are cheap pleather and falling apart. I need a replacement, and I think these would do. I like the crisscrossing straps.

Aldo Shoes: Jestes, in black satin

3) Funky boot/sneakers. I don’t know what it is, but I like these with skinny jeans or skirts and tights. Once again, Aldo seems to offer the perfect pair.In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m currently obsessed with boots.

Aldo Shoes: Crowers, in black satin

4) Funky, equestrian inspired boots. I love these.

Aldo Shoes: Alioto, in cognac

5) A black velvet blazer. I’ve been looking for years for the perfect one, and I still haven’t found it. This Victoria’s Secret one is pretty close, but it’s a little out of my budget.

Victoria's Secret: Velvet Blazer, in black

6) Corduroy blazer. I like to mix the preppy, pulled-together look with my general madness. Picture it with a tee underneath, skinny jeans, and boots (surprise!). It could work.

Victoria's Secret: Three-button blazer in vintage corduroy, in rust

7) A plaid coat. This is one of those things that are in style right now, but I really like it. Who cares that it will be passe next season. I think I could pull it off.

Levi's Women's Blue Plaid Wool Peacoat

8 ) Black, long-sleeve, button-up shirt. I had the perfect one. Unfortunately, it belonged to my ex-girlfriend. I think this is a basic piece of any wardrobe and I need a replacement pronto.

Express: Essential Stretch Long-Sleeve Shirt, only in black

9) Red boots. My mom has a pair from the 1980s, which are pretty much the coolest thing ever. If she is going to be 50 this year, and can still pull them off, so could I.

These are reserved on Etsy, but the perfect pair must exist somewhere out there.

10) A beige suede belt. It’s that simple. I have western-inspired beige suede boots. While I don’t think it’s essential to match your shoes and belt, sometimes I am so inclined.

A simple beige belt

11) A bad-ass leather jacket. I don’t know what it is, but I’ve been craving a leather jacket. As a vegetarian, I think I’d feel too hypocritical to wear a real leather jacket. Faux leather would be my first choice, followed by vintage. I figure, if the cow’s been dead thirty years, its hide might as well get some use. I haven’t found the perfect thing anywhere, but here are some pictures for inspiration:

12) I tend to accumulate too much stuff in my wallet, largely because there are too many pockets. I want to simplify in one of two ways: a simple men’s wallet, or a case as a wallet.

Fossil: Men's Evans Zip Passcase

Sex Kitten Cigarette Case/Wallet

And now, I must stop this before I get out of control or before I start to over-analyze what this says about my fashion inclinations.

    • T-Rex
    • December 17th, 2009

    Aren’t you the one who makes fun of my men’s fossil wallet? Are you really just jealous of it? Also, I still agree that you need those plaid shoes. And you also might need that plaid coat.

    • @T-Rex: I don’t think I made fun of it. I really like Fossil wallets, especially the men’s ones. I probably just made a smart-ass comment about fulfilling lesbian stereotypes. Hey, you gotta make up for not being able to change a tire.

  1. December 30th, 2009

Leave a Reply

